The only countries in the world with access to 3 oceans: one is in South America and has territories on 3 continents

The ocean covers more than 70% of the Earth’s surface and is essential for life. Of the 195 countries in existence, only three have the particularity of being able to access it. three oceans. This feature highlights the geographical diversity of these countries, but also gives them strategic advantages in terms of trade and defense. The nation of South AmericaIn addition, it has three territories on different continents.

That South American country It has territories in America, Oceania and Antarctica. Its status as a tricontinental This makes it an exceptional case in the world and it shares this category only with France, which has territories in Europe, America and Africa.

These countries have access to both the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. Photo: Acacia Johnson

Which are the only countries in the world with access to 3 oceans?

Russia, Canada and Chili They are the only countries that have access to three of the planet’s five oceans. Russiathe largest country in the world, has coasts on the Pacific Ocean to the east, the Arctic Ocean to the north and, although indirectly, on the Atlantic Ocean through the Baltic Sea. For its part, Canadathe second largest country on the planet, is bordered to the west by the Pacific Ocean, to the east by the Atlantic Ocean and to the north by the Arctic Ocean, as it has an impressive coastal area that covers more than 200,000 kilometers.

Canada has access to 3 oceans, making it trioceanic. Photo: World Atlas

Chilion the other hand, stands out for its access to three oceans and for being the only tricontinental country in Latin AmericaLocated on the west coast of South America, the nation of Chile borders the Pacific Ocean and, through its claim to Antarctica, has access to the waters of both the Atlantic Ocean and the Southern Ocean.

Why is Chile tricontinental?

Chili It is considered a tricontinental country due to its presence in South America, Oceania and AntarcticaThe Chilean mainland stretches from the Atacama Desert in the north to the Magallanes region in the south, and borders the Pacific Ocean. In addition, this nation has island territories in Oceania, such as Easter Island and Salas y Gómez Island, which are part of this continent.

As for Antarctica, Chili Chile claims a portion known as the Chilean Antarctic Territory. Although its sovereignty is suspended by the Antarctic Treaty, this region represents a significant extension of Chilean territory to the south, reaching all the way to the South Pole. This fact confirms Chile as a country with a presence on three different continents, which gives it a unique strategic and geographical advantage in the world.

Tricontinental map of Chile. Photo: Government of Chile

What is the other tricontinental country in the world?

France It is one of the few countries considered tricontinental in the world, along with ChiliThis name is due to the fact that it has territories in Europe, America and Africa, all of them integrated into the French Republic. Europeis metropolitan France. In America, there are Guadeloupe and Martinique in the Antilles, as well as French Guiana in the Caribbean. South America. Finally, in Africathe territories of Réunion and Mayotte are located.

France has 3 territories on different continents. Photo: Quora

What are the bioceanic countries in the world?

A bioceanic country is one that has coasts in two different oceansSome of the best known in the world have access to the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans:

  • USA
  • Russia
  • Mexico
  • Panama
  • Argentina
  • Honduras
  • Costa Rica
  • Nicaragua
  • Colombia
  • Guatemala
  • Egypt
  • Thailand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *